Kyuhyun’s interview with K-style

JP-CN translation: 再次秋來_cup
CN-EN translation: @kikiikyu (TWITTER)


Q: Please tell me your thoughts on acting in “Bongsun, A Woman Who Dies If She Loves”.

규: It was very stiff because it was my first time acting in a drama. Furthermore, I’ve not been able to check my performance at this point, so I feel uneasy and worried. On one hand, I’m really looking forward to it, but in honesty, I feel the worry the most. It was very interesting during the filming process, so I’m left with pleasant memories.

Q: I’ve seen the drama, and found it very interesting.

규: Really? That’s great.

Q: Was there a reason or opportunity for choosing this project?

규: I had received the invitation despite not having acted in a drama before. I was initially worried about the schedules clashing, but felt that it was a good opportunity, so I agreed to it.

Q: Were there any happy or difficult parts during the filming?

규: Because it is a story that develops in an office, I felt that I had really become a genius programmer when we were filming in the office set and was very happy. As for the difficult parts, because the cyborg that I’m acting beside will suddenly faint or run out of battery, I have to catch her. Under such circumstances you have to be like a man, and your expression has to be very natural. That part was rather difficult in terms of physical strength.

Q: What did you feel about the character Joosung when you first read about him in the script?

규: Even though he is an intelligent and perfect character, his memories are gradually disappearing. In addition to that, there are many different complicated elements, it was a little tough. Actually, I didn’t know if I could play the role of Kim Joosung well, and I think that in that process, Kyuhyun’s shadow will be there to an extent. When acting, there are people who can completely transform into the character, and there can also be people who bring their own interpretations to the role, Just like acting in a musical, I’m a person who will incorporate my own style when creating the character. However, this is still not an easy role to play.

Q: Then please introduce Joosung.

규: Kim Joosung is an elite member who studied abroad with BS electronics’ sponsorship, and is the leader of the advanced research team. He created a cyborg that he loves, while also losing his memory. In the end, he even forgets that the cyborg was his own creation. Even though he suffers from Alzheimer’s disease, he falls in love with that cyborg. After which he tries to push her away when he realises that she isn’t human, but is eventually unable to lie to his heart. It is a character who is in a heart-breaking and depressing relationship.

Q: Where do you think Joosung’s charm lies?

규: During my junior and senior high school years, as I was considering my aspirations as a child to become a judge, prosecutor, doctor and other such occupations, I released that I had to study extremely hard. Even though I felt that I could become a regular salaryman, this time, I could act as the office worker I never became, so I felt the charm in that. Of course, it is also a very difficult profession, but at the same time, he is a genius, isn’t he? That is the beauty of this production. Besides that, (my personality is that) I would not directly reject a girl, so I felt that Joosung’s firm distancing himself from Bongsun was very straightforward.

Q: On variety programs, you usually play a sharp-tongued role, and now it has turned into a romantic one. It seems like two polar opposites. Do you feel any difficulty in this aspect?

규: On variety programs, I don’t do that because I am actually blaming the person. It is to an extent also another role that I play. Even though I don’t particularly like the (overly) sweet parts of the show, or found some of the lines a little embarrassing, I always keep in mind that, “It isn’t me who is doing this, it’s the drama’s character, so it’s okay.” I think I did pretty well, acting with the mentality that “This isn’t me.”

Q: Was there any feedback about this drama from any Super Junior members or friends?

규: No, nothing in particular. (laughs)

Q: During a dating scene with Bongsun, there was a scene where you kept changing your clothes. When I saw it, I felt like it was like an improvised performance, where there any highlights about that time?

규: Please think of that scene as Kyuhyun himself performing, my mischievous personality came out (during that). However, I feel that Joosung does have a side of him with a sense of humour when he’s around the people he loves. And will let her see a side of him that is different from the usual. It was really very joyful filming that scene, and there were quite a few improvised performances.

Q: Because there are kissing scenes, inclusive of those kissing scenes, what is your personal evaluation of the love scenes?

규: Though at the beginning before the shooting I felt that I could do it well, but the situation was that the kissing scene was filmed on the streets where there were many people. Everybody around was looking, and coupled with the fact that I had never filmed a kissing scene before, I was so nervous that there were many NGs. We managed to film a very beautiful kissing scene in the end. I thought that the scene was really pretty; with the female lead lying down, and me kissing her from above. But when you’re actually do it, you find that it is an unexpectedly difficult position. I then understood that the beautiful scenes in television dramas and movies are actually shot with much difficulty.

Q: How is your chemistry with the female lead, Yoon Sohee?

규: We saw each other very often because we had many scenes together, and had also met the producer and writer numerous times before the filming to practice the script. We naturally became close because we filmed together a lot once the shooting started. To me, she is a senior (in terms of acting), so when we were reading the script together, I received support from her in many ways, and was able to go about the filming comfortably.

Q: The fans may be jealous about the love scenes in the drama, what you do feel about that?

규: There are fans who get jealous after just seeing the poster. They said, “Why is she holding Kyu’s hand like that?” (laughs) Please have in mind that he isn’t me, but another man… Whether it is I or Yoon Sohee, we’re holding hands like that not because we want to. Just understand that this is a part of transforming into the character. (laughs)

Q: You are currently in the midst of your first Japanese concert tour. Have you eaten the various local delicacies?

규: Yes. Out of the three meals in a day, there must be one that I get to eat the local delicacies. Presently, the Fukuoka and Sapporo concerts have ended, and I got to eat Fukuoka’s well-known Mizutaki, as well as Sapporo’s ramen and hairy crab. I intend to eat all the famous food.

Q: Are there any individual charms about each area? Were there any interesting highlights?

규: Fukuoka and Hokkaido are regions were many delicacies, so I don’t have any memories besides the food. I ate sushi, and then ate ramen, In essence I only have the memory that it was delicious. In Sapporo, I went out for a walk because I had eaten too much and was too full, but got recognised in the streets in the end. Because it is still cold in the North, it feels as if it’s still winter. And as this is a cold region, I feel that everyone’s skin is very pretty.

Q: You should have many opportunities to come to Japan. What do you look forward to every time you come here?

규: I always look forward to the ramen, draft beer, and sushi. There is only eating in my mind (laughs). Even before I go, my thoughts will be, “What am I going to eat this time?”

Q: Lastly, “Bongsun, A Woman Who Dies If She Loves” will finally air on 14th May, please leave a message for your Japanese fans.

규: “Bongsun, A Woman Who Dies If She Loves” is a web drama that I, Kyuhyun have filmed as the lead for the first time. I heard that it will start screening in theatres in Japan in May. It would be nice if many fans and people in Japan will watch it and give it lots of love. Thank you, everyone.

About gaem9488

You can't get angry just because you can't control the world as you please

Posted on 2016-05-14, in ELF, Kyuhyun. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment